High Protein Vegetable Soup with Crunchy Golden Roasted Chickpeas

I absolutely love soup.  There is just something about homemade soup …. My mom was the soup maker of all time.  In fact, she was the Queen at making her famous soup.  She had this big old black pot, which was her soup pot, and she would throw in a cup of this and a cup of that, grate veggies and stir everything with a big wooden spoon.  Then bread was buttered and cut in half in a triangle effect and soon we were enjoying this amazing miracle of mom’s soup. Fast-forward ….a few years…okay many years….I still can’t get my mom’s soup to taste as great as when my mom made it….. It must be that pot…and I don’t have the pot.

So, after many years of trying, failing and crying I decided to do my own version of an awesome hearty soup.  Pure veggies with loads of nutrition, no big surprise there.   I am not too pedantic about the actual quantities of the vegetables, but the combination of the vegetables and the chickpeas work really well together. I like this soup thick-ish, and smooth, so using the blender really helps getting it to perfection. This recipe came about from just vegetables I had in the fridge.  This happens often around here…..I am seeing a pattern…

High Protein Vegetable Soup with Crunchy Golden Roasted Chickpeas

Preparation time:  20 minutes

Cooking time:  25 minutes

Total time:  45 minutes

Makes 9 cups

Ingredients:

a little oil for saute’ing

1 cup chopped onion

1 cup chopped green pepper

6 long celery stalks and tops, chopped

approximately 2 1/2 cups (350 grams) chopped carrots

2 large zucchini’s, chopped (approximately 350 grams)

2 cups cooked chickpeas

salt and pepper to taste

dried origanum

2 cups vegetable stock

For the topping:  Dry roasted chickpeas – optional

Instructions:

In a large pot, and on medium heat, saute the onions until just translucent. Add the green pepper, celery and  celery tops.  Stir around for about a minute and then add the carrots, zucchini’s, chickpeas, origanum and stock. Bring to the boil, stirring occasionally and then reduce the temperature to simmer with the lid on the pot.  Let simmer for about 20 minutes or until the vegetables have softened.  Taste.  Season with salt and pepper. Add more origanum if you feel it is needed. Taste. Then, add the vegetables to the blender.  Blend until the vegetables reach the consistency you want.

Serve hot and with some crunchy roasted chickpeas.

Enjoy 🙂

NB*

This soup freezes well in a sealed container.

To Dry Roast Chickpeas:  Chickpeas must be cooked.  Drizzle over olive oil, salt and pepper. Then place on a baking tray in a preheated oven for about 20 minutes or until golden brown and crispy.  Remember as the roasted chickpeas cool, they will get a bit more crisp.

 

54 thoughts on “High Protein Vegetable Soup with Crunchy Golden Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Yummy soup and a good time of year to harvest what’s still growing in the garden. Those chickpeas sound good for plain old munching. (Comment break – put seasoned chickpeas in oven – return to comment). No soup tonight (we’re having veggie smoothies ala Lynne) and roasted chickpeas! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yay !!! Glad you are enjoying those nice healthy smoothies ….Roasted seasoned chickpeas are the ultimate best. I cannot resist them. I literally have to hide them from myself. I have a permanent stash in the fridge and some in my freezer. There is no hope for me !!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • They were great. I threw some garlic on them too. We ate the whole batch in about 10 minutes! Our new healthy snack. 🙂

        We’ve been having smoothies for dinner every other day all summer, Lynne. After your suggestion about quinoa, I’ve been experimenting and recently added red lentils. The husband would be mortified if he knew, but it was good! It’s been a great way to use up garden veggies – especially zucchini and cucumbers. 🙂 Thanks for all the great recipes.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. your presentation is so beautiful! I’ll bet those crunchy roasted chickpeas really kick it up a notch! My grandma was a great soup maker too. She made a batch of some kind of soup every week and always send home a quart jar. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever put chickpeas in soup and for the life of me I don’t know why. This sounds so good! I could easily eat a whole batch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kelsie. I pretty much experiment with everything when it comes to healthy alternatives 🙂 Who knows what will be next 🙂 ….but Chickpeas are wonderful in soup, and a great snack if roasted and crispy. 🙂

      Like

  4. Yum! I’m hoping you will inspire me to make lots of pots of soup this upcoming fall and winter season. I’ve never been a soup maker, but I’m a soup lover, particularly for lunch. My guy is allergic to garlic, so most times I can’t buy soups at the grocery stores or restaurants. Why I haven’t started making my own yet, I don’t know. But you make is sound so easy, as well as healthy. Thanks for spurring me on! And thanks for finding me and my muse over at Roughwighting.

    Like

    • Hi Pam, I certainly hope I will inspire you to make lots of soup. It really is so easy, and homemade soups I feel really are the best. Allergic to garlic shame ! Even if you see a recipe with garlic in, just leave it out. Is he able to have onion, leeks, spring onion or chives? If so you could always use either one of those in place of the garlic. The best is always to taste as you go along so if you feel it may need extra spice or something go for it. I am glad I have spurred you on, and thank you for your lovely comment. Take care and have a great week

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks delicious and hearty! I feel like that’s such a great quality for a veggie soup, so it can fill you up for longer. Yum!! 🙂 xo

    Like

Leave a comment